Newsletter

Why artisanal wheels mounting?

The wheels are the best improvement that can be made to a bike. They are the ones who most influence his behavior and his speed. They play on vertical and lateral stiffness, on inertia and aerodynamics. The wheels are the soul of the bike.
However, how to assemble a wheel is as important as the components that make it up. Your wheels are hand-assembled with the components we choose together.

We are using a spoke tension meter to get an uniform spokes tension, the tensions variation remain under 5% on all assembled wheels.

After tensioning, we have to remove all the residual constraint in the spokes. For that we use the “destress” techinque (also called spokes breaking) who allows to increase their fatigue resistance and their durability. The tension distribution on the wheel and the elimination of residual constraint will directly influence the wheel reliability and its ability to remain round troughout its life

The disadvantage of machine-assembled wheels is to have tension deviation up to 25 to 45%. This is due to processes that promot profitability over quality and production variations. As a result, the life of the machine wheel is much more limited.

The manual tensioning of a wheel, the '' destress '' of the spokes and the standardization of the tensions can take up to two hours of work.

Every rider has different needs according to his morphology, his practice, the external conditions, his objective weight and his budget. We take into consideration all these elements to propose you the assembly which corresponds to you the best. Because of their extreme lightness, some wheels are trickier to make than others and require more attention. We estimate the time to go by wheel to more than one hour to be perfect. It is very important to have a homogeneous distribution of tensions. Our objective is to have no more than 5% of variation between the most taut radius and the least taut radius, which means that the tension must be measured and adjusted constantly during assembly. This is particularly the case with the lightest rims that require special attention and require a little more time than usual.

All the JpracingBIKE1 are mounted in our premises in Vendée, France.

Here are presented below the different stages of the assembly of our wheels.

  • 1 - THE LACING WHEELS

In this example, an MTB wheel will be radiated with 32 spokes crossed by 3. The wheel is placed face to face so that the direction of travel of the wheel is clockwise , so face to the opposite side of the disc.

The logo of the hub is aligned with the rim one.


The first spokes is called the « main spokes » is posed : it is a tractor spoke (also called "tail"). A tractor spoke is a spoke whose rim end is always late compared to its hub-side head. The tractor spoke has its head visible on the outside of the flange, here on the left flange because in this case the rim is pierced on the left (the first hole after the valve is oriented on the left) (and inversely on the right flange if the rim was pierced on the right).
The other seven tractor spokes are then placed, clockwise, every two holes in the flange and all four holes in the rim. A nipple is screwed on each spoke.

In the same way, the eight tractor spokes of the other patch are positioned. The first of this series being placed to the right of the master spoke.

The pushing rays are then placed. The pushing spokes (also called "head") are those whose end rim side is always ahead of the hub side head. The pushing rays are those introduced from the inside of the flange. They must cross three tractor spokes (above, above and below) before being introduced into the rim.

  • 2 - SPOKES ADJUSTEMENT

Before screwing the nipples completely, linen oil is applied to all the threads of the spokes. This oil will allow to lubricate to mount more easily in tension. It will then '' siccativer '', that is to say, oxidize and dry. Once solidified, it is very resistant, while remaining flexible. It adheres to all metals and therefore serves as glue after serving as a lubricant.

Then nipples are evenly screwed.

  • 3 - UNVEILING - CENTERING - TENSIONING

The wheel is then placed on the mounting bracket. The nipples are continued using a spoke wrench one turn at a time until the spokes are taut. Then come the delicate operations of lateral, vertical and centering unveiling. The most difficult is to reveal and center without each of these operations interfere too much between them. This skill is acquired with experience and time.

The tensioning is performed using a Spoke Tension Meter. To ensure a reliable, robust, responsive and nerve wheel, the tension must be high and consistent. The maximum tension indicated by the rim or spoke manufacturer (see a few more in some cases) is applied on the freewheel side at the rear, on both sides for a front wheel with side braking and disc side for a front wheel with disk. The tension on the opposite side freewheel and the opposite side disk for a front wheel will result from the geometry of the hub (and the voltage of the opposite side) so as to obtain a wheel centered.

  • 4 - THE CASSAGE

View of the foot that will be used to break the wheel.

After tensioning, the residual "stresses" must be eliminated so that the spoke heads take their place in the flanges and the nipples are seated in the rim. We must also allow the rays that would have remained twisted on themselves to find their neutral position. The technique consists in placing the wheel on the support above and pressing very strongly on the rim with both hands. The efforts are applied successively over the entire periphery of the rim, one side and then the other. We can then hear high sounds meaning the placement of the rays. This technique also increases the life of the spokes.

With the spokes moving, the wheel is repositioned on the mounting bracket to re-float and control the tensions. A new breaking operation is then performed and so on until the tensions and the sail are stabilized.

Thanks to this technique, the wheel will remain round and straight much longer than a wheel mounted in a machine.

Threadlocker can then be added to the request, especially on the least stretched patch

  • 5 - SPOKE TYING

To increase the life of the wheel through a better distribution of stresses*, the spokes can be ligated. The immobility of the spokes between them also generates a gain in terms of torque transfer and nervousness. The ligatures also make it possible to hold the spoke in the event of breakage and thus avoid coming to rub or get stuck in the frame or the derailleur*. This avoids damaging the bike and also allows to continue the competition without having to stop.

The ligature consists of a wire wound 7 times at the intersection of the rays. It is then welded and then cleaned with water using an scrub sponge (Scotch-Brite) to complete the finish.

The ligatures can also be made with carbon thread and resin. The holding of the ligature is even stronger and its appearance remains stable over time.

Photos : Michel VY / E-METIS PRESS


2016 © Jpracingbike1. Tous droits réservés. Création E-metis Webdesign

Pourquoi un montage de roues artisanales ?

Les roues constituent la meilleure amélioration que l'on puisse apporter à un vélo. Ce sont elles qui influencent le plus son comportement et sa vitesse. Elles jouent sur la rigidité verticale et latérale, sur les inerties et sur l'aérodynamique. Les roues font l'âme du vélo.
Cependant, la manière d'assembler une roue est aussi importante que les composants qui la constituent. Nos roues sont montées à la main avec les composants que nous choisissons ensemble.

Nous utilisons un tensiomètre pour obtenir une tension uniforme des rayons. La variation de tension reste dans une fourchette de moins de 5 % sur chacune des roues montées.

Après la mise en tension, il faut éliminer toutes les contraintes résiduelles dans les rayons. Pour cela, nous pratiquons une technique de ''destress'' (appelée également ''cassage des rayons'' ) qui permet d'augmenter leur résistance à la fatigue et leur durée de vie.
La distribution des tensions sur la roue et l'élimination des contraintes résiduelles va directement influencer la fiabilité de la roue et sa capacité à rester ronde tout au long de sa vie.

L'inconvénient des roues assemblées par machine est d'avoir des écarts de tension pouvant atteindre 25 à 45 %. Ceci est dû à des processus favorisant la rentabilité à la qualité et aux variations de production. De ce fait, la durée de vie de la roue machine est beaucoup plus limitée.

La mise en tension manuelle d'une roue, le ''destress'' des rayons et l'uniformisation des tensions peut prendre jusqu'à deux heures de travail.

Chaque coureur a des besoins différents en fonction de sa morphologie, de sa pratique, des conditions extérieures, de son objectif poids et de son budget. Nous prenons en considération tous ces éléments pour vous proposer le montage qui vous correspond au mieux.

À cause de leur extrême légèreté, certaines jantes sont plus délicates à monter que d'autres et demandent plus d'attention. Nous estimons le temps à passer par roue à plus d'une heure pour qu'elles soient parfaites. Il est très important d'avoir une répartition homogène des tensions. Notre objectif est de ne pas avoir plus de 5 % de variation entre le rayon le plus tendu et le rayon le moins tendu, ce qui signifie qu'il faut mesurer et ajuster constamment la tension au cours du montage. Ceci est en particulier le cas avec les jantes les plus légères qui demandent une attention toute particulière et nécessitent un peu plus de temps que d'habitude

Toutes les roues JPRACINGBIKE1 sont montées dans nos locaux en Vendée.

Voici présentées ci-dessous les différentes étapes du montage de nos roues.

  • 1 - LE LAÇAGE DE LA ROUE

Dans cet exemple, une roue de VTT va être rayonnée avec 32 rayons croisés par 3. La roue est placée face à soi de manière à ce que le sens d'avancement de la roue soit le sens horaire (sens des aiguilles d'une montre), donc face au côté opposé disque.

Le logo du moyeu est aligné avec celui de la jante.


Le premier rayon, appelé rayon maître, est posé : c'est un rayon tracteur (aussi dit ''de queue'' ). Un rayon tracteur est un rayon dont l'extrémité côté jante est toujours en retard par rapport à sa tête côté moyeu. Le rayon tracteur a sa tête visible à l'extérieur du flasque, ici sur le flasque gauche car dans ce cas la jante est percée à gauche (le premier trou après la valve est orienté à gauche) (et inversement sur flasque droite si la jante était percée à droite).
Les sept autres rayons tracteurs sont ensuite placés, dans le sens horaire, tous les deux trous dans le flasque et tous les quatre trous dans la jante. Un écrou est vissé sur chaque rayon.

De la même manière, les huit rayons tracteurs de l'autre nappe sont positionnés. Le premier de cette série étant placé à la droite du rayon maître.

On place ensuite les rayons pousseurs. Les rayons pousseurs (aussi dits ''de tête'' ) sont ceux dont l'extrémité côté jante est toujours en avance par rapport à la tête côté moyeu. Les rayons pousseurs sont ceux qui sont introduits par l'intérieur de la flasque. Ils doivent croiser 3 rayons tracteurs (dessus, dessus puis dessous) avant d'être introduits dans la jante.

  • 2 - AJUSTEMENT DES RAYONS

Avant de visser complètement les écrous, de l'huile de lin est appliquée sur tous les filetages des rayons. Cette huile va permettre de lubrifier pour monter plus facilement en tension. Elle va ensuite ''siccativer'', c'est-à-dire s'oxyder et sécher. Une fois solidifiée, elle est très résistante, tout en restant souple. Elle adhère à tous les métaux et sert donc de colle après avoir servi de lubrifiant.

Les écrous sont ensuite vissés de manière égale.

  • 3 - DEVOILAGE - CENTRAGE - MISE EN TENSION

La roue est ensuite placée sur le support de montage. On continue de visser les écrous à la clé à rayon, un tour à la fois, jusqu'à ce que les rayons se tendent. Ensuite arrivent les délicates opérations de dévoilements latéral, vertical et centrage. Le plus difficile réside à dévoiler et centrer sans que chacune de ces opérations interfèrent trop entre elles. Cette aptitude s'acquiert avec l'expérience et le temps.

La mise en tension est effectuée à l'aide d'un tensiomètre. Pour garantir une roue fiable, robuste, réactive et nerveuse, la tension doit être élevée et homogène. La tension maxi indiquée par le fabricant de jante ou de rayons (voir un peu plus dans certains cas) est appliquée côté roue libre à l'arrière, des deux côtés pour une roue avant avec freinage sur flancs et côté disque pour une roue avant à disque. La tension côté opposé roue libre et celle côté opposé disque pour une roue avant découlera de la géométrie du moyeu (et de la tension du côté opposé) de manière à obtenir une roue centrée.

  • 4 - LE CASSAGE

Vue du pied qui va servir au cassage de la roue.

Après la mise en tension, il faut éliminer les contraintes résiduelles de manière à ce que les têtes de rayon prennent leur place dans les flasques et que les écrous fassent leur siège dans la jante. Il faut aussi permettre aux rayons qui seraient restés tordus sur eux-mêmes de retrouver leur position neutre. La technique consiste à placer la roue sur le support ci-dessus et à presser très fortement sur la jante à l'aide des deux mains. Les efforts sont appliqués successivement sur toute la périphérie de la jante, d'un côté puis de l'autre. On peut alors entendre des sons aigus signifiant le placement des rayons. Cette technique permet également d'augmenter la durée de vie des rayons.

Les rayons ayant bougé, la roue est de nouveau repositionnée sur le support de montage afin de la redévoiler et de contrôler les tensions. Une nouvelle opération de cassage est alors réalisée et ainsi de suite jusqu'à ce que les tensions et le voile se soient stabilisés.

Grâce à cette technique, la roue restera ronde et droite beaucoup plus longtemps qu'une roue montée en machine.

Du frein filet peut ensuite être rajouté à la demande, notamment sur les nappes les moins tendues

  • 5 - LE LIGATURAGE

Pour augmenter la durée de vie de la roue grâce à une meilleure répartition des contraintes, les rayons peuvent être ligaturés. L'immobilité des rayons entre eux engendre également un gain au niveau du transfert de couple et en nervosité. Les ligatures permettent aussi de tenir le rayon en cas de casse et ainsi éviter de venir frotter ou se coincer dans le cadre ou le dérailleur. Cela évite d'endommager le vélo et permet aussi de continuer la compétition sans devoir s'arrêter.

La ligature est constituée d'un fil enroulé 7 fois à l'intersection des rayons. Elle est ensuite soudée, puis nettoyée à l'eau à l'aide d'une éponge abrasive (Tampongex) pour parfaire la finition.

Les ligatures peuvent aussi être réalisées avec du fil de carbone et de la résine. La tenue de la ligature est encore plus forte et son apparence reste stable dans le temps.

Photos : Michel VY / E-METIS PRESS